3D Scanning Crumpled Paper

So with my first 3D scan a success, I decided I wanted to try and produce shapes that would be difficult otherwise impossible with out 3D scanning them. So I decided to Crumple some paper.

IMG_2026

This kind of shape is so random and dynamic, as malleable as paper is the shapes that can be created when crumpled are pretty unique, especially on a large scale.

To be honest I wasn’t sure if this would work.

But It did! Very well in fact.Screen Shot 2014-03-11 at 23.01.13

I was able to fly through the space that the paper inhabited in my kitchen, pretty seamlessly. I mean as seamlessly as you would expect producing this scan on my mobile phone.

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 15.22.45

After cutting away the paper, from the two stacked coffee pots I had placed it on. I closed up any holes, and then exported it back out of Zbrush. And into 123D Make. From here, I found that a cohesive model could be structured. I didn’t see much value in 3D printing something like this, as it wouldn’t really have worked, to many overhangs, to much of a jumble and the walls of the piece were pretty thin.

paper-giff

I looked towards the laser cutter and I was reminded of a stereo speaker I saw once that utilised stacked pieces of clear acrylic, forming a box, whilst on the inside of all these stacked pieces, the appearance of a sound wave formed.

I thought this would make an interesting light or just decorative piece.

After playing with 123D Make for a while. I produced a fairly complex amount of acrylic pieces to be lasered.

Once I lasered all the pieces out, Stuck them together with clear loctite. The real issue was the dirt and grease produced on the laser bed, that I couldn’t clean off. The result was a pretty murky looking piece. Which although doesn’t take away from the shape. It does kill some of the lustre of the piece.

Best

I know where I want to go next with this, I want to try and put a negative shape inside a positive shape. Maybe alter the colours of the acrylic, definitely give some thought about creating a light of set of speakers.

Leave a Reply

