Mark Quinn

I really like when artists, cut the crap. They dont sprinkle glitter over the matter and they are truthful and understand that not everyone will be fooled by the gloss of what the hype says.

What i see when i look at Mark quinns art. is this very brutal honesty about who we are and about what things are. It reminds me of Damien Hirst. where these strong contrasts and juxtapositions are formed.

A few of my favourite pieces are.

What I like about this particular piece is the use negative space. which i consider relevant to my current topic.

I also really like his blood sculpture, it just makes me feel like a piece of material. I feel rather expendable when i look at it. Maybe not the happiest piece. still a powerful thing to feel.

 

 

Leave a Reply

