Projection Mapping

Ive been thinking about the premise of my work and what it is about it that interests me. I very much am enjoying the idea of contrasting different materials, and the idea of adjoining the real and the virtual may be an interesting form of play.

I have a Kinect and i can get a projector, so i thought i would have a play and see if i can do some projection mapping.

I had a general browse and found some software called ZVector, I downloaded the free trial and had a play.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 13.41.47

I played around with the settings and I found that my laptop would struggle and chug with certain settings. This particular triangular setting worked rather nicely.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 13.44.43Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 13.43.12

This kinect did well in determining depth and perception. and light seemed to be balanced within the room i was in. Though the issue is isolating the figure, which the kinect CAN do.

I shall have to sit down and give this another play, soon, this may be a nice way to highlight my exhibition space.

Leave a Reply

