Finishing off the bronze masks

With my wax faces cast, I need to polish and clean them up. I worked on them, grinding the edges on a wheel until it was smooth and even.

I ground at the backs of the faces, because they didn’t have a clean fit to the ceramic. I worked them pretty hard the faces lost quite a bit of weight which was beneficial.

I sand blasted the pieces and filed the facets, to refine them. Next was to patina them. I did consider polishing them to a shine. But I thought a patina would work nicely with the bronze colouring.

The results after polishing with some steel wool.IMG_3852_2

Leave a Reply

